The Pueblo Personal Injury Law Office of Mickey W. Smith serving Southern Colorado. Free Consultation -  Automobil Accidents, Wrongful Death, Motorcycle and Trucking Accidents
Automobile Accidents, Wrongful Death, Motorcycle and Trucking Accidents, Insurance Disputes.
Practice AreasAttorney ProfileBlogContact Us

Automobile Accidents
Wrongful Death
Motorcycle Accidents
Trucking Accidents
Insurance Disputes
Spine and Back Injuries
Social Networking, follow Us.
Colorado Car Insurance Information

Colorado’s Automobile Insurance Requirements

If you drive a car on Colorado’s roadways, you have a responsibility to drive safely, obey the traffic laws and carry a certain amount of automobile insurance. But what exactly are Colorado’s automobile insurance requirements?

In Colorado, all motor vehicle drivers are required to carry liability insurance. Liability insurance is the insurance that covers any person or property that is injured as a result of your negligence behind the wheel. There are; however, minimum liability requirements that all drivers are required to purchase, which are:

• $15,000 per accident for any property damage
• $25,000 per person for bodily injury
• $50,000 per accident for bodily injury

These minimum requirements will protect you in the event you are in a small car accident, but if you are involved in a major or catastrophic accident, this insurance policy will be quickly exhausted. Most insurance agents and experts recommend increasing your coverage substantially, so you do not run the risk of being underinsured in an accident. Not having enough automobile insurance can increase your risk of losing your home, car and other assets if you are held responsible for an accident.

In addition to liability insurance, Colorado also requires all drivers to carry a certain amount of uninsured/underinsured insurance. This insurance covers YOU if you are involved in an accident with someone who does not have enough insurance to pay for your injuries and damages. If you suddenly find yourself with severe and lifelong disabilities, your insurance will step in and help pay for expenses when the other driver’s insurance policy is exhausted. The minimum amount of uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is:

• $25,000 per person
• $50,000 per accident

If you or someone you love is involved in an automobile accident, it is important to contact a Pueblo personal injury attorney immediately to review your case and negotiate with insurance companies on your behalf. Call the Pueblo Personal Injury Law Office of Mickey M. Smith today for a free consultation. (719) 544-0062.

RELATED CAR ACCIDENT INFORMATION:

Pueblo Auto Accident Information
Car Accident Related Injuries
Colorado Car Insurance Requirements

Bookmark and Share

Map and Directions facebook twitter linkedin wordpress Testimonials